Archive for July 30th, 2011

July 30, 2011

Piccadilly Jim by P.G. Wodehouse

by pennpaper52

Piccadilly Jim

This book is so hilarious. I had never heard of Wodehouse or knew he was the brains behind the Jeeves and Wooster TV series I used to watch when I was young. The story starts with playboy Jim who sets his eyes on Ann Chester. Ann despises Jim for a piece of article he had written some years back. So Jim comes up with a pseudo for himself to get close to Ann. That’s when things get complicated and starts to get funny. There is also a nice little piece of animated work that depicts the family in a not so flattering manner that Jim has made for the want of money. Add an international thief and you have a Wodehouse classic tale. The twists and turns he creates is amazing and very hilarious. Read him when you are feeling low, he is the best medicine in the world.

Get the book from the E-mail me the Book page.

July 30, 2011

The Gift of the Magi by O. Henry

by pennpaper52

The Gift of the Magi

One of my fav heart warming stories to read. The first time I read this story was for a class assignment and I was not really into it. It took me a while to concentrate on the story, but once I did I loved every word. The second time I came across the book while browsing my library and the floods of rich warm emotions came back to me. The book is about a newly married couple who do not have enough money to buy a Christmas Gift for their better half. The manner in which they sacrifice themselves really tugs at the heart strings. The story it is said was written in Pete’s Tavern in New York City by O. Henry which is actually a pen name for William Sydney Porter.

Get the book from the E-mail me the Book page.